Managing Messages

Overview

The messages is what E-Rkive is all about. E-Rkive allows fast access to your messages in a multitude of different ways. You can view, open, group, sort, move and search quickly and easily.

By right clicking on a message you will gain access to the following options:

  • Open
  • Move
  • Restore to Outlook
  • Delete

If any options are disabled these are the reasons

  • Open - Outlook is not Open and Force Outlook Open to View Messages (Tools > Options > General) is ticked. Remedy: Open Outlook and/or untick the Option
  • Move - the message is stored in a V1 Archive. Remedy: Migrate message into a V2 Archive
  • Restore to Outlook - the message is stored in a V1 Archive. Remedy: Migrate message into a V2 Archive
  • Delete - the message is stored in a V1 Archive, or, Allow messages to be deleted in this Archive (Edit Archive) is not ticked. Remedy: Migrate message into a V2 Archive or Edit Archive and untick Option

View Messages

Folders containing messages will have a blue number in brackets after the folder name. Select a folder to view a list of the messages.

Open Messages

Double click a message to open it. The message needs Outlook to be open before it can open. If Outlook is currently closed and the setting Force Outlook Open to View Messages (Tools > Options > General) is not ticked, Outlook will automatically open (ticked by default). Otherwise you will see the following message asking you to open Outlook manually before continuing.


Figure 1: The Open Outlook prompt
  • Click Yes once you have opened outlook to open the message(s)
  • Click No to cancel the request

Sort Messages

Click any column header to sort by that column. Click the same column again to toggle the sort order. If you right click a column you can set it as an additional sort column within the first sort column.

Try this, click the From field to sort messages by whom they were sent from. Now right click the Item Date/Time and select Sort to sort by the item date time within the sorted From name. Notice that a number 2 appears in the second sorted column.

Group Messages

Right click a column heading in Message View to access the grouping options. You can group messages by multiple columns. When grouping is on, sorting will work but only within the groups. Right click on a Group header to access more grouping options that allow you to collapse and expand groups.

Manage Duplicates

Click an Archive node in the folder list to view the Archive Properties. The properties will show you how many messages are duplicated and how much space the duplicated messages consume. To view a list of the duplicated messages, right click the Archive node and select Show Duplicates. The Message View pane turns to Duplicate Mode (message icons are blue) and all duplicated messages are grouped together and sorted so that the original/default message is listed first followed by the copies.

Move Messages to another folder

You can move messages within an archive. You cannot move folders or messages between archives. Highlight the message(s) to be moved, right click the highlighted area and select Move.


Figure 2:Archive Folder Selection

Restore Messages to Outlook

Any message can be restored to Outlook in their original condition.


Figure 3: Restore Messages to Outlook

Migrate Messages from earlier versions of E-Rkive

For existing users of E-Rkive, all your archives created with earlier versions of E-Rkive can be migrated into the new V2 format archives. There is additional information stored from each message in the new format so to perform a migration requires that all messages are restored back into Outlook then re-archived.

To migrate messages from a V1 Archive, right click the V1 Archive node in the folder list and select Migrate into V2 format Archive.


Figure 4: Migrate messages to V2 Archive
  • The V1 Archive is automatically selected
  • You can either select an existing V2 Archive from the drop-down or click the build button to Create an Archive
  • Ignore duplicates allows to filter out multiple copies of the same email

Each message file (.mzp) has a corresponding entry in the database. Before the migration begins E-Rkive checks the health of the database and archive. Checking to see that every entry in the database has a corresponding message file.

There are two types of issues that can arise from this check:

  • A missing message is one where the database entry exists but the message file does not exist
  • An orphaned message is one where the database entry does not exist but the message file does.

Orphaned files can be migrated but missing messages cannot. We must have the message file to be able to migrate successfully.


Figure 5: Missing or Orphan files message

If missing or orphaned files exist you prompted to continue.

  • Click Yes to continue with the migration process
  • Click No to cancel the migration process

When you continue, the following screen will be displayed. This form shows you the progress of the migration task.


Figure 6: Message Migration in progress

When the migration task finishes, the following summary will be displayed


Figure 7: Archive Summary

The Archive Summary displayed in Figure 7 tells us:

  • the migration process was cancelled by the user
  • there were 2 folders scanned containing 250 messages
  • 238 messages were migrated into the new V2 Archive
  • 12 messages were ignored because they were duplicates
  • no messages were deleted (they never are in a migration process, your original V1 Archive remains completely in tact)

By default, a log file is saved that contains all the information from the progress form as well as the summary form. The log file is saved into My Documents\My E-Rkives\Logs. The log file name is made up of the following [Task Type]_[Task Name]_[date]_[time].log ie: Migrate-V1_Migrate-Email-Archive_20110905_074257.log.

 

Delete Messages

Messages can be deleted/undeleted from archives. You must set the option to allow deleting when you create or edit your archive (V2 Archives only).

When messages are deleted they are tagged as deleted and become disabled. Depending on whether you have enab

The View menu provides an option to allow you to show or hide deleted messages.

To permanently remove messages from an Archive, see Tools > Clean & Repair Archive.